NASA’s ingenious helicopter fails to take off for a fourth flight to Mars

NASA’s Mars Perseverance Rover captured this image using its right mastcom-Z camera. The Mastcam-Z is a pair of cameras located high on the rover’s mast. This is yet another frame from a scene captured by the camera while filming on April 29th. Credit: NASA / JBL-Caltech / ASU / MSSS

Data from Tuesday Thursday morning’s ingenuity shows that the helicopter did not operate the planned fourth flight. The helicopter is safe and in good health. Data returned during a downlink at 1:21 p.m. EDT (10:21 am PDT) indicates that the helicopter has not switched to airplane mode, which should take place.

The team plans to try out a fourth aircraft again today, April 30, 2021. The flight is scheduled for 10:46 a.m. EDT (7:46 a.m. PTD, 12:30 a.m. local Tuesday), with first data expected NASAJet Propulsion Laboratory in Southern California at 1:39 p.m. EDT (10:39 a.m. PDT).

A problem identified earlier this month showed a 15% chance every time the helicopter tried to fly, it would face a tracking timeout, but would not switch to airplane mode. Today’s delay is in line with that expectation and will not hinder future flights. A conference is scheduled for Friday, April 30th.

Sophia Harrison

Part time worker

I'm Sophia Harrison working as a part-time staff at the Costco since the past year until I become as an author at the iron blade, hope I can use my experiences with the supermarkets here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top